Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CMN Logo LibraryTitle2

Special Collections: Boarding Schools

Collection of documents, photographs, recordings, maps, and more that preserve the history of the Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin and the College of Menominee Nation
Search Library Catalog
 
Search: 
 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project

Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page

Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.

Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.

(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Click here to go to Wisconsin DPI

Wisconsin DPI provides information and resources about Wisconsin state academic standards, education budgets, licensing, and employment opportunities.

(Image courtesy of ETS / https://www.ets.org/praxis/wi)

Common Core State Standards: History/Social Studies

Click here to explore the Common Core Standards for History/Social Studies

The new Common Core State Standards for history and social studies put a greater emphasis on student work with primary and secondary sources, as well as critical analysis.

(Image courtesy of Academic Library Association of Ohio / http://www.alaoweb.org/events?eventId=649315&EventViewMode=EventDetails)

JSTOR

Click Here to go to JSTOR

Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.

(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)

BadgerLink

Click Here to go to BadgerLink

About BadgerLink

Badgerlink provides access to journals, magazines, & newspapers for Wisconsin residents.

(Image courtesy of UW Extension / http://broadband.uwex.edu/blog/2011/11/november-15th-badgerlink-library-resources-something-for-everyone/)

Key to Navigating the Library

When you enter a title into the card catalog to find that material in the Library, you might find some strange letters before or after the card catalog number. Knowing what those letters mean will help make your research go more smoothly...

MEN -- This material can be found in Special Collections areas.

Special Collections Lab, shelf A-1 -- This material can be found in the Special Collections Lab. Please ask the Head of Special Collections for assistance.

Special Collections Drive -- This material is located on the Special Collections server, which can be accessed from the computers in the Special Collections Reading Room.

NA -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room. This room is on the first floor of the Library past the circulation desk, in between the "I's" and the "J's" of the feature film DVDs.

GB -- This material is located at the Green Bay campus.

(Image courtesy of Zelda Wiki / http://zeldawiki.org/Library_Key)

Wisconsin Public Television: "Menominee History"

The following video was created by Wisconsin Public Television Documentaries, and first aired August 26, 2014. In the video, Menominee Historic Preservation officer, Dave Grignon, shares the story of the Menominee people.

(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Public Television / http://video.wpt.org/video/2365306294/)

Library and Special Collections Materials related to Boarding Schools

Here is a small sample of books you can find at Library and in Special Collections related to Boarding School experiences and Boarding School history across North America. Visit us in person to find more.

Special Collections Materials related to Menominee Boarding Schools

The following are some of the materials you can find in Special Collections related to the Menominee Indian Schools. Come to Special Collections to examine these amazing stories!!

More Menominee Boarding School Materials

The following is a list of collections you can find in the Special Collections department with materials on Menominee Boarding Schools. These include St Joseph's attendance reports from 1900-1960, St Joseph's oral history interview recordings, and St Joseph's parish reports.

CMN Sacred Little Ones Project

Click here to go to the Sacred Little Ones Project

The Sacred Little Ones project builds on research and partnerships between CMN, Menominee Head Start, Menominee Tribal School, and Keshena Primary School to develop an early childhood education model that will provide Menominee children with the academic skills, motivation, support, and confidence necessary to succeed in elementary school.

(Image courtesy of College of Menominee Nation's Sacred Little Ones Project / http://www.cmnsacredlittleones.com/)

Subject Guide

Library Materials related to the History of Education

Here are some books from our nonfiction collection on the history of education.

Library Materials related to American Indian Education

Here are some materials on American Indian Education. Come explore the Library and Special Collections to discover even more!

                                                                                    

Contact Services

Resources

N172 St. HWY 47/55

Keshena, Wi 54135

715.799.6226 ext. 3003

library@menominee.edu

Library Website

Library catalog

Community Computers

Borrow from another Library

Community Reads

Printing/Copying (cost)

Programs & Events

Overdrive

Special Collections

Research & Resource Guide

Classes Guide

Badgerlink

JSTOR

College of Menominee Nation

Follow us on Social Media