EDU305 Methods for Social StudiesENG207 American Indian LiteratureHIS123 The Treaty EraHUM100 Introduction to the HumanitiesSDE100 Sustainable Development
Menominee Termination and RestorationMenominee LanguageBoarding Schools
This is the "Special Collections" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Apr 26, 2017 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/specoll Print Guide RSS Updates

Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Special Collections

Special Collections is located in the lower level of the College of Menominee Nation Library.

Special Collections is an archive and rare materials repository that contains non-circulating materials about the Menominee Indian Tribe and other Native peoples of Wisconsin. Materials cover topics that include culture, history, language, treaties, and government.  Special Collections holds rare books, maps, microfilm, art, recordings, and more!!

Special Collections materials are continually being cataloged and organized, so be sure to visit us in person as well as looking at the online catalog. Finding Aids for archival materials will be added to this guide as they are completed.

Many items from Special Collections have been digitized.  Click the link in the middle column to visit the Digital Collection.

(Image courtesy of CMN S. Verna Fowler Academic Library/Menominee Public Library Special Collections / http://content.mpl.org/cdm/compoundobject/collection/cmnlsc/id/3592/rec/23)

 

Some Materials Available in Special Collections

Here is a sample of books and other materials you can find in Special Collections.  Visit us downstairs in person to find more!

You can also find more lists of Special Collections materials about the Menominee here.

Cover Art
The Menominee - Verna Fowler
Call Number: 977.5004 FOW (non fiction) or MEN 977.5004 FOW (Special Collections)
ISBN: 0817254587
Publication Date: 2000

Menominee Tribal Constitution and By-laws
Call Number: MEN 320.1 MEN
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
The Menominee - Patricia K. Ourada
Call Number: MEN 977.5004 OUR
ISBN: 1555467156
Publication Date: 1990

Cover Art
The Menomini Indians of Wisconsin - Felix Keesing
Call Number: 977.5004 KEE (non fiction) or MEN 977.5004 KEE (Special Collections)
ISBN: 0299109747
Publication Date: 1987

Menomini Lexicon - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: MEN 497 BLO
Publication Date: 1975

Joseph F. Preloznik Papers on Menominee Termination and Restoration
Call Number: MEN-NIC-MS004
Contents: Joseph F. Preloznik Papers consist of professional, legal, administrative, educational, political, and media documents and publications on the Old Claim Case, Menominee Termination, Menominee Enterprises Inc., Menominee Tribal Enterprises, Legend Lake, Tomow Case, Daly Case, Van Camp Hunting and Fishing Case, D.R.U.M.S., Menominee Warriors Society, and the Novitiate Takeover.

 

Access American Indian Genealogical Information through Ancestry.com

       

Click here to go to Ancestry.com

Ancestry.com just added a number of documents to help with American Indian genealogical research. Click the above link to go to ancestry.com. You can get started with a free trial, but maintaining an account requires a subscription fee.

(Image courtesy of ancestry.com  / http://www.ancestry.com)

 

CMN Special Collections and Digitized Collections

Chief Sam Frog, Johnson Awohnopay, and Wayne Martin pose with Menominee men in traditional and modern dress, original print.   

Special Collections is currently building a Digital Collection online. This digital collection of Menominee history contains news articles, letters, photographs, pamphlets, and much more. You can see a few of the Special Collections items which have already been digitized on this guide.

Click here to visit the Digital Collection.  

(Image courtesy of CMN S. Verna Fowler Academic Library/ Menominee Public Library Special Collections / http://content.mpl.org/cdm/singleitem/collection/cmnlsc/id/3499/rec/28)

 

Special Collections Reading Room

The Special Collections Reading Room is located in the lower level of the Library, next to the Children's Area. The Reading Room is where you can explore Special Collections materials--from maps to photos to recordings!


Before visiting, please take a moment to peruse policies and guidelines for the Special Collections Reading Room. Our materials require special care!

 

Wisconsin Public Television: "Menominee History"

The following video was created by Wisconsin Public Television Documentaries, and first aired August 26, 2014. In the video, Menominee Historic Preservation officer, Dave Grignon, shares the story of the Menominee people.

(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Public Television / http://video.wpt.org/video/2365306294/)

 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project

Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page

Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.

Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.

(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)

 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

Open
Mon 8 am-11 am
Wed-Thur 1 pm - 4:30 pm
Fri 9 am - 4:30 pm

and by appointment,
please call: (715) 799-6226,
ext. 3003/3405.

 


Check out our blog to see what we're up to!

 

Research Forms

A quick guide to your research with contact information can be found on our Handout document.

To start your research with items in the lab or vault, please fill out Appendix A: Researcher Application.  

If you would like digital copies of available items, please fill out Appendix B: Request for Reproduction.

Forms can be returned via in person or email
(bhuse@menominee.edu)

 

Finding Aids

Much like a card catalog in a library, a finding aid is a tool used by researchers to access materials in an archive. These finding aids will assist you in understanding what exists in Special Collections, and in identifying what you should look at for your research.

(Image courtesy fo phanlop88 / Freedigitalphotos.net)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip