This is the "Resource Guide" page of the "LAN Menominee Language" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This research guide will help you locate Library materials related to the Menominee language, other native languages, and language preservation.
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/lan Print Guide RSS Updates
Resource Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CMN Sacred Little Ones Project

Click here to go to the Sacred Little Ones Project

The Sacred Little Ones project builds on research and partnerships between CMN, Menominee Head Start, Menominee Tribal School, and Keshena Primary School to develop an early childhood education model that will provide Menominee children with the academic skills, motivation, support, and confidence necessary to succeed in elementary school.

(Image courtesy of College of Menominee Nation's Sacred Little Ones Project / http://www.cmnsacredlittleones.com/)

 

Oneida Nation Language Lessons

Click here to try some Oneida Language Lessons

The Oneida Nation of Wisconsin has put a number of Oneida language lessons and activities online to encourage people to learn the Oneida language. Click the above link to give these lessons a try and practice speaking Oneida!

(Image courtesy of Oneida Nation of Wisconsin / www.oneidanation.org)

 

The Ojibwe People's Dictionary

Click here to check out the Ojibwe People's Dictionary

Faculty and students of the University of Minnesota's Department of American Indian Studies established the Ojibwe People's Dictionary. The goal of the project was to create a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English and English-Ojibwe dictionary that speaks in the voices of Ojibwe elders. A search for a word will provide the written version of that word, the spoken word, and example sentences. 

(Image courtesy of the Ojibwe People's Dictionary / http://ojibwe.lib.umn.edu/)

 

Ho-Chunk Language Lessons

Click here to learn about Ho-Chunk Language

The Language Division of the Ho-Chunk Nation provides open links to Ho-Chunk Language lessons, puzzlees, and games online. They even have an iPad app! Follow the link to try your hand at speaking Ho-Chunk!

(Image courtesy of the Ho-Chunk Nation Language Division / http://www.hocak.info/mysite/HTM%20All/Writing%20System%201870.html)

 

Language Resources from the Endangered Language Fund

Click here to look at language resources recommended by the Endangered Language Fund

The Endangered Language Fund provides some excellent resources on language revitalization, language teaching, and funding opportunities for language projects. You can also find links to the ELF Language Archive.

The ELF was founded in 1996 with a goal of supporting endangered language preservation and documentation projects, primarily through grant funding. It is based in New Haven, CT.

(Image courtesy of the ELF Facebook page / https://www.facebook.com/pages/Endangered-Language-Fund/187418285372)

 

Indigenous Language Institute

Click here to go to the Indigenous Language Institute

The philosophy of the Indigenous Language Institute is to "help create speakers" of endangered languages while those with the knowledge are still with us.

(Image courtesy of Indigenous Language Institute / http://www.indigenous-language.org/)

 

Endangered Languages Project

Click here to go to the Endangered Languages Project

"More than 40% of all languages are endangered and at risk of extinction." In addition to acting as a resource to share information about endangered languages, the Endangered Lanuguages Project also works to provide best practices for those working to preserve language. The site includes an interactive map that highlights many of the endangered languages of North America.

(Image courtesy of Transparent Language / http://www.transparent.com/about/7000-languages-project.html)

 

Living Language

(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Media Lab / http://vimeo.com/41451761)

 

Menominee Language Materials in Special Collections

Special Collections has a wealth of Menominee language materials, from recordings to dictionaries to comic books! We have included a sample of our collection below. Visit us in person to find more!

Ben Grignon Digital Collection of Menominee Language Recordings
Call Number: Special Collections Drive

Omae:qnomene:w-A:cemwanan Mesek A:taeqno:hkakanan - Menominee Stories and Legends - Johnson Awonohopay; Fidel Amour; Wallace Pyawasit; Joe Smith; Teresa Wescott; Margaret Richmond; Merceline Sanapaw; Irene Mack; Ken Miner
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-3
Publication Date: July 1975

Menomini Lexicon - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: MEN 497 BLO, MEN 497 BLO c.2
Publication Date: 1975

Menominee Language Comics - Unknown
Call Number: MEN 497 MEN



Lessons in Basic Menominee - Wisconsin Native American Languages Project
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-3

Menominee Alphabet Book - Wallace Pyawasit; Margaret Richmond; Merceline Sanapaw; Irene Mack; Ken Miner; John Nicols
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-2
Publication Date: 1974


Menominee as a Second Language - Unknown
Call Number: MEN 497 MEN
Publication Date: 1999-01-01


 

Learn to Count to 10 in Menominee

(Video courtesy of Alex Zacarias, YouTube / http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CroBtENyjjw)

 

Native American Collection Materials on Native Languages

The following are some language materials related to the languages of other Native nations in North America. Come to the Library and take a look at these great resources!



Cover Art
Beginning Cherokee - Ruth Bradley Holmes; Betty Sharp Smith
Call Number: NA 497 HOL
ISBN: 9780806114637
Publication Date: 1978-01-15

A Concise Dictionary of Minnesota Ojibwe - John D. Nichols; Earl Nyholm
Call Number: NA 497 NIC
ISBN: 9780816624270
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
Lakota Dictionary - Eugene Buechel (Editor); Paul Manhart
Call Number: NA 497 LAK
ISBN: 9780803213050
Publication Date: 2002-12-01

The Navajo Verb System - Robert W. Young
Call Number: NA 497 YOU
ISBN: 9780826321763
Publication Date: 2000-05-01

Cover Art
Dakota Grammar - Stephen Return Riggs, James Owen Dorsey (Preface by), John D. Nichols (Introduction by)
Call Number: NA 497.5243 RIG
ISBN: 9780873514729
Publication Date: 2004-05-10

 

Library Materials on Native Language Preservation and Education

Here are some materials you can find in the Library on language preservation and education.

Cover Art
Language and Literacy Teaching for Indigenous Education - Norbert Francis; Jon Allan Reyhner
Call Number: 497 FRA
ISBN: 9781853596018
Publication Date: 2002-09-05

Making Dictionaries - William Frawley (Editor); Kenneth C. Hill (Editor); Pamela Munro (Editor)
Call Number: 497 MAK
ISBN: 9780520229952
Publication Date: 2002-10-03

Cover Art
Crossing Mountains - Phyllis Ngai
Call Number: 497 NGA
ISBN: 9780759121225
Publication Date: 2012-03-15

Teaching Oregon Native Languages - Judy Li; Joan Gross
Call Number: 497.071 TEA
ISBN: 9780870711930
Publication Date: 2007-11-15

 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Key to Navigating the Library

When you enter a title into the card catalog to find that material in the Library, you might find some strange letters before or after the card catalog number. Knowing what those letters mean will help make your research go more smoothly...

MEN -- This material can be found in Special Collections areas.

Special Collections Lab, shelf A-1 -- This material can be found in the Special Collections Lab. Please ask the Head of Special Collections for assistance.

Special Collections Drive -- This material is located on the Special Collections server, which can be accessed from the computers in the Special Collections Reading Room.

NA -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room. This room is on the first floor of the Library past the circulation desk, in between the "I's" and the "J's" of the feature film DVDs.

GB -- This material is located at the Green Bay campus.

(Image courtesy of Zelda Wiki / http://zeldawiki.org/Library_Key)

 

Leonard Bloomfield Materials

Leonard Bloomfield (1 April 1887-18 April 1949) was an American professor of Linguistics who studied Indo-European, Austronesian, and Algonkian languages, including Fox, Cree, Menominee, and Ojibwe. He founded American structuralism. Bloomfield worked on the Menominee reservation with Menominee language in the 1920s and 1930s. His work in Linguistics is still influential, and you can find a few of his publications in Special Collections...

(Image courtesy of Universite Nice Sophia Antipolis - Universites Numeriques Thematiques / http://unt.unice.fr/uoh/learn_teach_FL/affiche_theorie.php?id_theoricien=10)

Cover Art
Language - Leonard Bloomfield; Charles F. Hockett (Foreword by)
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-2
ISBN: 9780226060675
Publication Date: 1966

The Menomini Language - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-2
Publication Date: 1962

Menomini Lexicon - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: MEN 497 BLO, MEN 497 BLO c. 2
Publication Date: 1975

Menomini Texts - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-3
Publication Date: 1928

Cover Art
A Leonard Bloomfield Anthology - Leonard Bloomfield; Charles F. Hockett (Editor)
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-2
ISBN: 9780226060712
Publication Date: 1970

Language History - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: Special Collections Lab, shelf C-2
Publication Date: 1965

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip