This is the "Resource Guide" page of the "ENG207 American Indian Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG207 American Indian Literature   Tags: bibliography, books, catalog, citations, evaluate sources, library, mla, research, works cited, writing  

This research guide will help you locate Library materials related to American Indian Literature
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/eng207 Print Guide RSS Updates
Resource Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures (ASAIL)

Click here to go to ASAIL!

The Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures is a professional academic organization dedicated to the study of American Indian written and oral literary traditions. ASAIL features a number of panels at MLA and at the Native American Literature symposium.

(Image courtesy of ASAIL / http://asail.org)

 

Modern Language Association (MLA)

Click here to go to MLA!

The Modern Language Association has been around for over a hundred years, and is dedicated to providing opportunities for scholars to discuss findings and to share teaching experiences. MLA is also the publisher of The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.

(Image courtesy of MLA / www.mla.org)

 

JSTOR

Click Here to go to JSTOR

Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.

(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)

 

BadgerLink

Click Here to go to BadgerLink

About BadgerLink

Badgerlink provides access to journals, magazines, & newspapers for Wisconsin residents.

(Image courtesy of UW Extension / http://broadband.uwex.edu/blog/2011/11/november-15th-badgerlink-library-resources-something-for-everyone/)

 

MLA Manuals

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers. - Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number: REF 808.02 MLA; First Floor Reference
ISBN: 1603290257
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
A Pocket Style Manual - Diana Hacker
Call Number: REF 808 HAC GB; Available at Green Bay Library Reference
ISBN: 0312452756
Publication Date: 2008

 

Just a Few Titles with Native American Authors

Here is a small sample of books at the Library with Native authors or that tell American Indian stories. Visit us in person to find more!

Cover Art
Last Standing Woman - Winona LaDuke
Call Number: FIC LAD c.3; FIC LAD c.2 GB
ISBN: 0896584526
Publication Date: 1999-11-26

Cover Art
Little - David Treuer
Call Number: FIC TRE
ISBN: 0312151640
Publication Date: 1996-11-15

Cover Art
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian - Sherman Alexie; Ellen Forney (Illustrator)
Call Number: YA FIC ALE; FIC ALE c.3 GB
ISBN: 0316013684
Publication Date: 2007-09-12

Cover Art
Dawn Land - Joseph Bruchac; Will Davis (Illustrator)
Call Number: YA FIC BRU
ISBN: 9781596431430
Publication Date: 2010-10-12

Cover Art
Walking the Rez Road - Jim Northrup
Call Number: 818 NOR; 818 NOR c.3 GB
ISBN: http://menominee.kohalibrary.com/cgibin/koha/opacdetail.pl?biblionumber=8521
Publication Date: 2013-07-02

Cover Art
The Birchbark House - Louise Erdrich (Illustrator)
Call Number: YA FIC ERD
ISBN: 9780786814541
Publication Date: 2002-06-03

Cover Art
A Pipe for February - Charles H. Red Corn
Call Number: FIC RED
ISBN: 0806134542
Publication Date: 2002-11-11

 

Anthologies of Native American Literature

Here is a sample of anthologies of Native American literature available at the Library. Visit us in person to find more!

Cover Art
Masterpieces of American Indian Literature - Willis Goth Regier (Editor)
Call Number: 810.8 MAS
ISBN: 0803289979
Publication Date: 2005-05-01

Cover Art
Trickster - Matt Dembicki (Editor)
Call Number: YA FIC TRI; 741.5 TRI GB
ISBN: 9781555917241
Publication Date: 2010-06-01

Cover Art
Coming to Light - Brian Swann
Call Number: 897 COM; 897 COM GB
ISBN: 0679743588
Publication Date: 1996-02-13

Cover Art
Wisconsin Indian Literature - Kathleen Tigerman (Editor); Jim Ottery (Foreword by)
Call Number: NA 810.8 WIS
ISBN: 0299220605
Publication Date: 2006-11-29

 

Literary Criticism on American Indian Literature

Here are some examples of literary criticism related to American Indian literature and representations of Native people in literature you might find useful. Come to the Library and take a look at these great resources!!

Cover Art
Native Americans in Comic Books - Michael A. Sheyahshe
Call Number: 305.897 SHE
ISBN: 9780786435654
Publication Date: 2008-06-09

Cover Art
Other Destinies - Louis Owens
Call Number: 813 OWE
ISBN: 0806126736
Publication Date: 1994-09-15

Cover Art
Feminist Readings of Native Literature - Kathleen Donovan
Call Number: 810.9 DON
ISBN: 0816516324
Publication Date: 1998-03-01

Cover Art
Muting White Noise - James H. Cox
Call Number: 813 COX
ISBN: 0806136790
Publication Date: 2006-11-01

Cover Art
Murder on the Reservation - Ray B. Browne
Call Number: 813 BRO
ISBN: 0299196100
Publication Date: 2004-06-30

Cover Art
Understanding Sherman Alexie - Daniel Grassian
Call Number: 818.5 GRA
ISBN: 9781570035715
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Native American Poetry

Here are some Native American poetry collections you might enjoy. Come explore the Library to discover even more!

Cover Art
Summer in the Spring - Gerald R. Vizenor
Call Number: 897 SUM; 897 SUM c.2 GB
ISBN: 0806125187
Publication Date: 1993-03-15

Cover Art
Wearing the Morning Star - Brian Swann (Editor)
Call Number: 897 SWA
ISBN: 9780803293403
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Eskimo Poems from Canada and Greenland - Tom Lowenstein (Translator)
Call Number: 897 LOW
ISBN: 0822911108
Publication Date: 1973-12-01

Cover Art
I, the Song - A. Lewis Soens; Jill M. Soens
Call Number: 897 ITH
ISBN: 0874806097
Publication Date: 1999-05-18

Cover Art
In the Bear's House - N. Scott Momaday
Call Number: 818.54 MOM
ISBN: 9780826348395
Publication Date: 2010-11-15

Cover Art
Finding the Center - Dennis Tedlock
Call Number: 897 TED; 897 TEC c.2 GB
ISBN: 0803294409
Publication Date: 1999-12-01

 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project

Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page

Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.

Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.

(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip