This is the "Home" page of the "HUM100 Introduction to Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/hum100 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are the Humanities?

 

Click here for the Wikipedia definition of "Humanities"

Click the above link to read the Wikipedia definition of the humanities.

(Image courtesy of Illinois Wesleyan Humanities Program / https://www.iwu.edu/humanities/)

 

Why Do the Humanities Matter?

Click here to learn why the humanities matter!

Stanford University's Humanities Center explains why the humanities matter.

(Image courtesy of ShareLaTeX / https://www.sharelatex.com/)

 

4Humanities: Advocating for the Humanities

  

Click here to go to 4Humanities!

Check out 4Humanities: an advocacy group for the humanities powered by the Digital Humanities Community.

(Image courtesy of The Arts & Humanities in the 21st Century Workplace / http://www.ah21cw.com/)

 

The Humanities MATTER!

This great infographic on why the humanities matter is a must!

 

The Forest as an Art Object?

Here are some materials that might help answer the question, "How is the forest an art object?"

Material Culture of the Menomini - Alanson B. Skinner
Call Number: MEN 977.5004 SKI
Publication Date: 1921

Cover Art
Architecture Without Architecture - Carlos Ginatta
Call Number: 729 GIN
ISBN: 9783639261738
Publication Date: 2010-06-01

Ethnobotany of the Menomini Indians - Huron H. Smith
Call Number: MEN 581.6 SMI
ISBN: 9780837146331
Publication Date: 1970-09-28



 

JSTOR

Click Here to go to JSTOR

Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.

(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)

 

Important Style Manuals in the Library

Cover Art
A Pocket Style Manual - Diana Hacker
Call Number: REF 808 HAC GB; Available at Green Bay Library Reference
ISBN: 0312452756
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers. - Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number: REF 808.02 MLA; First Floor Reference
ISBN: 1603290257
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations - Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: REF 808.02 TUR; First Floor Reference
ISBN: 0226823369
Publication Date: 2007

 

Wisconsin Public Television: "Menominee History"

The following video was created by Wisconsin Public Television Documentaries, and first aired August 26, 2014. In the video, Menominee Historic Preservation officer, Dave Grignon, shares the story of the Menominee people.

(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Public Television / http://video.wpt.org/video/2365306294/)

 

"Classic" Humanities Texts and Authors

Here is a short list of some "classic" humanities works. (Some describe these as the "Dead White Males"...) Visit us in person to find more!



Cover Art
Complete Works - Plato; John M. Cooper (Editor); D. S. Hutchinson (Contribution by)
Call Number: 184 PLA
ISBN: 9780872203495
Publication Date: 1997-04-01

Cover Art
The Divine Comedy - Robin Kirkpatrick (Notes by, Translator); Dante Alighieri
Call Number: 851.1 DAN
ISBN: 9780141197494
Publication Date: 2014-03-25

Cover Art
Faust - Johann Wolfgang von Goethe; Walter Arndt (Translator); Cyrus Hamlin (Editor)
Call Number: 832 GOE
ISBN: 0393972828
Publication Date: 1998-11-05


Cover Art
"Paradise Lost" - John Milton; Christopher B. Ricks (Editor, Notes by); Susanne Woods (Introduction by)
Call Number: F-PB MIL; 821.4 MIL
ISBN: 0451527925
Publication Date: 2001-11-01

Cover Art
Thoreau - Elizabeth Hall Witherell (Editor); Henry David Thoreau; Elizabeth Witherell (Editor)
Call Number: 818 THO
ISBN: 9781883011956
Publication Date: 2001-04-23

Cover Art
A Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man - James Joyce
Call Number: FIC JOY
ISBN: 9780486280509
Publication Date: 1994-05-20

Cover Art
The 100 Most Influential Philosophers of All Time - Brian Duignan (Editor)
Call Number: 920 ONE
ISBN: 9781615300099
Publication Date: 2009-12-20

Cover Art
The 100 Most Influential Scientists of All Time - Kara Rogers (Editor)
Call Number: 920 ONE
ISBN: 9781615300020
Publication Date: 2009-12-20

Cover Art
The 100 Most Influential Writers of All Time - J. E. Luebering (Editor)
Call Number: 920 ONE
ISBN: 9781615300051
Publication Date: 2009-12-20

 

Special Collections Humanities Materials

The following is a small sample of Special Collections materials related to the humanities you might find useful. Come down to the Reading Room and take a look at these great resources!!

Collection of Sioux Indian Drawings from the Milwaukee Public Museum - Milwaukee Public Museum
Call Number: Special Collections Map Drawer

Menominee Lexicon - Leonard Bloomfield
Call Number: MEN 497 BLO
Publication Date: 1975

Steven L. Raymer’s “Wisconsin’s Menominee Indians” Photographs - Steven Raymer
Call Number: Special Collections Vault
Publication Date: 1974

Material Culture of the Menomini - Alanson Skinner
Call Number: MEN 977.5004 SKI
Publication Date: 1924

Cover Art
Culture and Resource Conflict - Douglas L. Medin; Norbert O. Ross; Douglas C. Cox
Call Number: MEN 304.2 MED
ISBN: 9780871545701
Publication Date: 2006-09-01

Menominee Stories - Jeri Jensen
Call Number: MEN 398.2 JEN
Publication Date: 1979

Menominee Music - Frances Densmore
Call Number: MEN 784.7 DEN
Publication Date: 1972

Medicine Ceremony of the Manomini, Iowa and Wahpeton Dakota - Alanson B. Skinner
Call Number: NA 299.78 SKI
ISBN: 9780404156787
Publication Date: 1984-07-01

Great Lakes Indian Art - David W. Penney (Editor)
Call Number: NA 709 GRE
ISBN: 0814319718
Publication Date: 1989-03-01

Native American Painting - David M. Fawcett; Lee A. Callander
Call Number: NA 750 FAW
ISBN: 0934490406
Publication Date: 1982-01-01

 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Key to Navigating the Library

When you enter a title into the card catalog to find that material in the Library, you might find some strange letters before or after the card catalog number. Knowing what those letters mean will help make your research go more smoothly...

MEN -- This material can be found in Special Collections areas.

Special Collections Lab, shelf A-1 -- This material can be found in the Special Collections Lab. Please ask the Head of Special Collections for assistance.

Special Collections Drive -- This material is located on the Special Collections server, which can be accessed from the computers in the Special Collections Reading Room.

NA -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room. This room is on the first floor of the Library past the circulation desk, in between the "I's" and the "J's" of the feature film DVDs.

GB -- This material is located at the Green Bay campus.

(Image courtesy of Zelda Wiki / http://zeldawiki.org/Library_Key)

 

Native American Poetry

Here are some Native American poetry collections you might enjoy. Come explore the Library to discover even more!

Cover Art
Summer in the Spring - Gerald R. Vizenor
Call Number: 897 SUM; 897 SUM c.2 GB
ISBN: 0806125187
Publication Date: 1993-03-15

Cover Art
Wearing the Morning Star - Brian Swann (Editor)
Call Number: 897 SWA
ISBN: 9780803293403
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Eskimo Poems from Canada and Greenland - Tom Lowenstein (Translator)
Call Number: 897 LOW
ISBN: 0822911108
Publication Date: 1973-12-01

Cover Art
I, the Song - A. Lewis Soens; Jill M. Soens
Call Number: 897 ITH
ISBN: 0874806097
Publication Date: 1999-05-18

Cover Art
In the Bear's House - N. Scott Momaday
Call Number: 818.54 MOM
ISBN: 9780826348395
Publication Date: 2010-11-15

Cover Art
Finding the Center - Dennis Tedlock
Call Number: 897 TED; 897 TEC c.2 GB
ISBN: 0803294409
Publication Date: 1999-12-01

 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project

Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page

Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.

Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.

(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)

 

Anthologies of Native American Literature

Here is a sample of anthologies of Native American literature available at the Library. Visit us in person to find more!

Cover Art
Masterpieces of American Indian Literature - Willis Goth Regier (Editor)
Call Number: 810.8 MAS
ISBN: 0803289979
Publication Date: 2005-05-01

Cover Art
Trickster - Matt Dembicki (Editor)
Call Number: YA FIC TRI; 741.5 TRI GB
ISBN: 9781555917241
Publication Date: 2010-06-01

Cover Art
Coming to Light - Brian Swann
Call Number: 897 COM; 897 COM GB
ISBN: 0679743588
Publication Date: 1996-02-13

Cover Art
Wisconsin Indian Literature - Kathleen Tigerman (Editor); Jim Ottery (Foreword by)
Call Number: NA 810.8 WIS
ISBN: 0299220605
Publication Date: 2006-11-29

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip