This is the "Resource Guide" page of the "HIS123 The Treaty Era" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This research guide will help you locate Library materials related to the treaties.
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/his123 Print Guide RSS Updates
Resource Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Treaties

Click here to browse the Treaties!

Oklahoma State University has digitized the Treaties between the US government and native nations that are contained in Charles Kappler's Indian Treaties: 1778-1883 and they are available online! The Treaties are organized both alphabetically by the name of the nation, and also chronologically by the year they were signed. Follow the above link to see the Treaties organized alphabetically by tribal name.

(Image courtesy of USGenNet / http://www.usgennet.org/)

 

JSTOR

Click Here to go to JSTOR

Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.

(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)

 

BadgerLink

Click Here to go to BadgerLink

About BadgerLink

Badgerlink provides access to journals, magazines, & newspapers for Wisconsin residents.

(Image courtesy of UW Extension / http://broadband.uwex.edu/blog/2011/11/november-15th-badgerlink-library-resources-something-for-everyone/)

 

Materials related to the Treaty Era, Treaties, and Treaty Rights

Here is a small sample of Library and Special Collections materials that might be useful when researching the Treaty Era, Treaties, and Treaty rights generally. These can be found in the Library stacks, the Native American collection room, and in Special Collections. Visit us in person to find more!


Cover Art
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy - Vine Deloria; Raymond J. DeMallie
Call Number: REF 342.73 DOC, v.1; REF 342.73 DOC, v.2
ISBN: 9780806131184
Publication Date: 1999-12-15

Cover Art
American Indian Treaties - The History of a Political Anomaly - Francis P. Prucha
Call Number: 323.1 PRU
ISBN: 9780520208957
Publication Date: 1997-03-15

Cover Art
Tribes, Treaties and Constitutional Tribulations - Vine Deloria; David E. Wilkins
Call Number: 342.73 DEL
ISBN: 9780292716070
Publication Date: 1999-01-01

 

Materials Related to Menominee Treaties

Here are some materials related to Treaties with the Menominee people, though many more exist that are not yet in our card catalog.  Come to the Library and take a look at these great resources!!


Menominee Indian Treaty Rights: An Overview - Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
Call Number: VIDEO 323.1 MEN (NA Collection)
Publication Date: October 1996


Cover Art
Siege and Survival - David R. M. Beck; David Beck
Call Number: 977.5004 BEC
ISBN: 9780803213302
Publication Date: 2002-12-01

Cover Art
The Struggle for Self-Determination - David R. M. Beck
Call Number: 977.5004 BEC
ISBN: 0803222416
Publication Date: 2007-09-01

 

Materials Related to Treaties with other Wisconsin Tribes

 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Key to Navigating the Library

When you enter a title into the card catalog to find that material in the Library, you might find some strange letters before or after the card catalog number. Knowing what those letters mean will help make your research go more smoothly...

MEN -- This material can be found in Special Collections areas.

GB -- This material is located at the Green Bay campus.

NA -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room. This room is on the first floor of the Library past the circulation desk. The double doors are located in between the "I's" and the "J's" of the feature film DVDs.

VIDEO -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room.

REF -- This material is located in the Reference section, which is at the far end of the first floor of the Library. The Library's house plants sit on top of the Reference section shelves.

(Image courtesy of Zelda Wiki / http://zeldawiki.org/Library_Key)

 

Resource Guide to Special Collections Treaties Sources

 

The following .PDF is an extensive list of Special Collections resources that relate to the Treaty Era. The materials include number of primary sources, such as letters and diary entries. We have tried to identify to which treaty each resource or primary source relates, where possible.

(Image courtesy of Norco / http://www.norco-inc.com/categories/welder-education-amp-troubleshooting)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip