This is the "Resource Guide" page of the "EDU305 Methods for Social Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDU305 Methods for Social Studies   Tags: books, citations, history, language, library, menominee, references, research, special collections, works cited  

This research guide will help you locate Library materials related to Social Studies instruction.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014 URL: http://menominee.libguides.com/edu305 Print Guide RSS Updates
Resource Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CMN Sacred Little Ones Project

Click here to go to the Sacred Little Ones Project

The Sacred Little Ones project builds on research and partnerships between CMN, Menominee Head Start, Menominee Tribal School, and Keshena Primary School to develop an early childhood education model that will provide Menominee children with the academic skills, motivation, support, and confidence necessary to succeed in elementary school.

(Image courtesy of College of Menominee Nation's Sacred Little Ones Project / http://www.cmnsacredlittleones.com/)

 

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Click here to go to Wisconsin DPI

Wisconsin DPI provides information and resources about Wisconsin state academic standards, education budgets, licensing, and employment opportunities.

(Image courtesy of ETS / https://www.ets.org/praxis/wi)

 

Common Core State Standards: History/Social Studies

Click here to explore the Common Core Standards for History/Social Studies

The new Common Core State Standards for history and social studies put a greater emphasis on student work with primary and secondary sources, as well as critical analysis.

(Image courtesy of Academic Library Association of Ohio / http://www.alaoweb.org/events?eventId=649315&EventViewMode=EventDetails)

 

JSTOR

Click Here to go to JSTOR

Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.

(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)

 

BadgerLink

Click Here to go to BadgerLink

About BadgerLink

Badgerlink provides access to journals, magazines, & newspapers for Wisconsin residents.

(Image courtesy of UW Extension / http://broadband.uwex.edu/blog/2011/11/november-15th-badgerlink-library-resources-something-for-everyone/)

 

Wisconsin Public Television: "Menominee History"

The following video was created by Wisconsin Public Television Documentaries, and first aired August 26, 2014. In the video, Menominee Historic Preservation officer, Dave Grignon, shares the story of the Menominee people.

(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Public Television / http://video.wpt.org/video/2365306294/)

 

Books on Social Studies Instruction and Pedagogy

Here is a small sample of books at the Library that might be useful when researching Social Studies instruction and pedagogy. Visit us in person to find more!

Cover Art
Social Studies - Melanie Wallace
Call Number: 372.83 WAL
ISBN: 1401881971
Publication Date: 2005-07-14

Cover Art
Living History in the Classroom - Douglas Selwyn
Call Number: 372.83 SEL
ISBN: 159363336x
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Cover Art
Amazing Social Studies Activities - Mercedes M. Fisher; Bonita Coleman; Jennifer R. Neuhauser
Call Number: 372.83 FIS
ISBN: 1578861616
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
The Essentials of Social Studies, Grades K-8 - Kathy Checkley
Call Number: 372.83 CHE
ISBN: 9781416606451
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Cover Art
Thinking Like a Historian - Nikki Mandell; Bobbie Malone
Call Number: 907 MAN
ISBN: 9780870204388
Publication Date: 2008-12-15

Cover Art
Creative Ways to Teach the Mysteries of History, Volume 2 - Ron H. Pahl
Call Number: 907 PAH
ISBN: 9781578866533
Publication Date: 2007-10-22

Cover Art
Mapping Wisconsin History - Bobbie Malone; Wisconsin Cartographers Guild Staff
Call Number: 977.5 MAP
ISBN: 0870203185
Publication Date: 2000-10-05


Cover Art
Multicultural Social Studies - Anita C. Danker
Call Number: 300.71 DAN
ISBN: 0807745855
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

 

Educational Materials Related to Native Peoples and Cultures

Here are some educational materials related to Native peoples and cultures you might find useful. These can be found in the Library stacks, the Native American collection room, and in Special Collections. Come to the Library and take a look at these great resources!!



Cover Art
Ready-to-Use Activities and Materials on Woodland Indians, Grades K-8 - Dana Newmann
Call Number: 372.9 NEW
ISBN: 0876286104
Publication Date: 1996-01-01







 

Tell Us What You Think!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Other Useful Materials

Here are some other materials you might find fun and helpful. Come explore the Library and Special Collections to discover even more!

Cover Art
Wisconsin Indian Literature - Kathleen Tigerman (Editor); Jim Ottery (Foreword by)
Call Number: NA 810.8 WIS
ISBN: 0299220605
Publication Date: 2006-11-29


Menominee Language Comics - Unknown
Call Number: MEN 497 MEN

Cover Art
Native Women of Courage - Kelly Fournel
Call Number: YA 920 FOU
ISBN: 9780977918324
Publication Date: 2007-09-01


Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 [Microfilm] - National Archives
Call Number: Special Collections Media Cabinet

Menominee Nation News [Microfilm] - Menominee Nation News
Call Number: Special Collections Media Cabinet


Cover Art
The Cartoon History of the United States - Larry Gonick
Call Number: YA 973 GON
ISBN: 9780062730985
Publication Date: 1991-08-14

 

Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project

Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page

Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.

Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.

(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip