Click here for the Wikipedia definition of "Humanities"
Click the above link to read the Wikipedia definition of the humanities.
(Image courtesy of Illinois Wesleyan Humanities Program / https://www.iwu.edu/humanities/)
Click here to learn why the humanities matter!
Stanford University's Humanities Center explains why the humanities matter.
(Image courtesy of ShareLaTeX / https://www.sharelatex.com/)
Click here to go to 4Humanities!
Check out 4Humanities: an advocacy group for the humanities powered by the Digital Humanities Community.
(Image courtesy of The Arts & Humanities in the 21st Century Workplace / http://www.ah21cw.com/)
This great infographic on why the humanities matter is a must!
Here are some materials that might help answer the question, "How is the forest an art object?"
Architecture Without Architecture by 
Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
This is a subscription service that is available to CMN students, staff, & faculty only. You must access this site on campus.
(Image courtesy of Robert College / http://webportal.robcol.k12.tr/Library/Research-Reading/Pages/default.aspx)
MLA handbook for writers of research papers. by 
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by The following video was created by Wisconsin Public Television Documentaries, and first aired August 26, 2014. In the video, Menominee Historic Preservation officer, Dave Grignon, shares the story of the Menominee people.
(Video courtesy of Wisconsin Public Television / http://video.wpt.org/video/2365306294/)
Here is a short list of some "classic" humanities works. (Some describe these as the "Dead White Males"...) Visit us in person to find more!
A Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man by 
The 100 Most Influential Philosophers of All Time by 
The 100 Most Influential Scientists of All Time by 
The 100 Most Influential Writers of All Time by The following is a small sample of Special Collections materials related to the humanities you might find useful. Come down to the Reading Room and take a look at these great resources!!
Culture and Resource Conflict by 
When you enter a title into the card catalog to find that material in the Library, you might find some strange letters before or after the card catalog number. Knowing what those letters mean will help make your research go more smoothly...
MEN -- This material can be found in Special Collections areas.
Special Collections Lab, shelf A-1 -- This material can be found in the Special Collections Lab. Please ask the Head of Special Collections for assistance.
Special Collections Drive -- This material is located on the Special Collections server, which can be accessed from the computers in the Special Collections Reading Room.
NA -- This material can be found in the Native American Collection room. This room is on the first floor of the Library past the circulation desk, in between the "I's" and the "J's" of the feature film DVDs.
GB -- This material is located at the Green Bay campus.
(Image courtesy of Zelda Wiki / http://zeldawiki.org/Library_Key)
Summer in the Spring by Here are some Native American poetry collections you might enjoy. Come explore the Library to discover even more!
Finding the Center by 
Click here to go to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project page
Do you have relatives or loved ones who endured the boarding school experience at Carlisle? The Community Studies Center at Dickinson College, in partnership with the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections Department, has been working on a project digitizing resources related to the Carlisle Indian School.
Follow the above link to explore student files, images, publications, and collections related to Carlisle and its students. The search engine has the ability to filter materials by tribal affiliation.
(Image courtesy of Carlisle Indian Industrial School Project / http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/)
Here is a sample of anthologies of Native American literature available at the Library. Visit us in person to find more!
Masterpieces of American Indian Literature by 
Wisconsin Indian Literature by 
